Boards and Committees

Newaygo City Council

The mission of the Newaygo City Council is to provide, in a democratic and transparent manner, efficient and effective services that will make Newaygo a better place in which to live, work and play. Come meet your City Council members at their next meeting. You can find Council meetings and past minutes by following the links at the bottom of this page.

The City of Newaygo operates under a Council-Manager plan of government. In this system, the City Council is composed of seven members elected at-large in non-partisan elections for four-year terms. The Council represents all the citizens of Newaygo and has responsibility for setting all municipal policies not designated by City Charter or State legislation, such as adopting ordinances and resolutions, voting appropriations, approving the budget and determining the tax rate. The Mayor is a member of Council, who serves as its chairperson as well as fulfilling various ceremonial functions.

The City Manager is appointed by and is directly responsible to the City Council. The Manager is chosen solely on the basis of executive and administrative qualifications and experience in municipal affairs.

As the administrative head of the City, the Manager carries out the policies that are made by Council and directs and coordinates the work of all City departments. It is the Manager's job to keep Council informed of the conditions and needs of the City and to make recommendations for actions as the need arises. The Manager also prepares the annual budget for Council consideration and upon its enactment, sees that its provisions are upheld.

The Council-Manager form of government is ideal for a mature City, such as Newaygo, as it affords the unification of authority and political responsibility in the elected Council, and centralization of administrative responsibility in a professional administrator. The system fosters democracy and efficiency in a government that is highly responsive to the needs of the City's citizens.

Council Members:

Ed Fedell, Mayor E-mail Term Expires 12/31/2019
Mike Hikade E-mail Term Expires 12/31/2021
Roger Ederer E-mail Term Expires 12/31/2021
Lee Black E-mail Term Expires 12/31/2019
Roger Palmiter E-mail Term Expires 12/31/2019
Katie Walerczyk E-mail Term Expires 12/31/2019
Eric Johnson E-mail Term Expires 12/31/2021

Planning Commission

The City of Newaygo Planning Commission meets on the second Tuesday of every month at 6:30 p.m. in the City Council Chambers. The Planning Commission oversees many changes happening within the City limits such as, but not limited to, zoning, new buildings/development, the start of a child care facility, in-home occupations, and new rental units.
Planning Commission Members: 
Dave Chambers, Chairman 
Travis Kroll, Vice-Chair
Mike Hikade
Art Westcott
Wayne Fetterley 
Sandy Williams
Ron Wight
Lee Black
Robbin Faulkner 

Tax Increment Finance Authority

The Tax Increment Financing Authority (TIFA) meets the second Friday of each quarter (January, April, July, October) in the City Council Chambers at 7:00 A.M.

Voting Members:
Ron Armstrong, Chairperson
Julie Burrell
Mark Guzniczak
Bryce Cronk
Nick Looman
Joel Phillips
James Badgero
Ed Fedell
Morgan Heinzman
Peg Mathis
Aaron Leestma
John Buckley
Kelly Tinkham

Director: Jon Schneider
Secretary: Kim Biegalle

Principal Shopping District (PSD)

The intent of the Principal Shopping District (PSD) is to retain and create a vibrant, attractive and cohesive center for the City of Newaygo with a variety of quality places to work, live, shop, learn, recreate, and be entertained.

The PSD has special regulations focused on the implementation of goals and objectives. Most important of those goals is the development of a compact, walkable, mixed-use district, consisting of a variety of retail, entertainment, office, service, residential, cultural, recreation and municipal uses. To provide for the desired traditional downtown environment and accommodate the wide variety of permitted uses, this district includes specific design standards for site layout, setback continuity, building design, pedestrian amenities, parking arrangement, vehicular circulation and coordination of site features between adjoining sites. It is the intent of this district to prohibit automotive related services and non-retail uses that tend to disrupt the continuity of the retail frontage.

Due to the density of development in the Downtown, there is a need for consolidated and shared services in order to maintain the beauty and character of the area. These shared services are funded by a quarterly fee paid by all property owners or tenets located within the downtown Principal Shopping District. The shared services include snow removal on sidewalks, public parking lots, garbage removal, maintenance on dumpsters and enclosures, maintenance of public parking lot surfaces and walk ways, lighting, among many other benefits.

Before any changes are made to the exterior of a building or a sign is needed within this district, approval is needed from not only the City of Newaygo, but also the PSD Board.

Currently this board meets quarterly. For 2019 the meeting dates are as follows: J anuary 9th, April 10th, July 10th, October 9th.

Members of the PSD Board:

Theresa Cooper - Vice-Chair
Sui Generis Home Furniture

Nick Looman - Chair
Newaygo Brewing Co.

Valerie Hobbie - Secretary
Old Opera House

Ed Fedell
City Council Representative

Jane Parsley
Parsley's Sport Shop

Greg Slominski
37 North

Jason Harris

Donna Friar
This Old House Antiques

Jeff Nelson
North Woods General Store

Newaygo Community Recreation Authority NCRA

The Newaygo Community Recreation Authority (NCRA) is a combination of nine members from multiple municipalities. These members work to improve the community's recreational facilities along with preserving the natural features of Newaygo County. The board meets the second Thursday of each odd month (January, March, May, July, September, November) at 8:00 A.M. The meetings are held in the Newaygo County Welcome Center located at 684 Evergreen Drive, Newaygo, MI 49337.
If you would like to be part of this  board please  contact Jennifer Badgero.  E-mail  
Jennifer Badgero, Chairperson 
Brooks Township 

Kim Goodin
Brooks Township 

Jon Schneider, Vice-Chair
City of Newaygo

Jane Parsley 
City of Newaygo 

Nick Smith
County of Newaygo

Nancy Kinniburgh
Garfield Township

Erik Larsen 
Garfield Township

Morgan Heinzman
Croton Township

Duane duChemin
Croton Township

Brownfield Redevelopment Authority

In 2007, the Newaygo County Board of Commissioners, in accordance with the State of Michigan Brownfield Redevelopment Financing Act (Act 381), approved the formation of a countywide Brownfield Redevelopment Authority.  

The mission of the Newaygo County Brownfield Redevelopment Authority (NCBRA) is to facilitate the redevelopment of environmentally contaminated and underutilized properties located within municipalities in Newaygo County through the use of tax increment financing and other state and federal incentives.

For more information please visit the Newaygo County Brownfield Redevelopment Page.

Quick Links:
How May We Help?

City of Newaygo

28 State Road
Newaygo, Michigan 49337
Phone (231) 652-1657
Monday through Friday, 7:30a-4:00p
Emergency: Phone 911